THE GOOD SHEPHERD 

📖: JOHN 10:1-18

Confession: Psalm 91

A Shepherd is a person who herds, tends, feeds, and guards sheep.

                                  OR
A Shepherd is a person who protects, guides, and watches over group of people. 

Israel (Jacob) said to Joseph that his Shepherd -God of his father, who had been with him all his life will be with him as written in Genesis 48:15 “Then he blessed Joseph and said, “May the God before whom my fathers Abraham and Isaac walked faithfully, the God who has been my shepherd all my life to this day”. The God that he referred to in this scripture text is Jesus Christ.

There was a word of prophecy of the Shepherd to come by the prophet in Isaiah 40:11 which says “He tends his flock like a shepherd: He gathers the lambs in his arms and carries them close to his heart; he gently leads those that have young”. John 10:2 says “The one who enters by the gate is the shepherd of the sheep and in John 10:11 and 14 Jesus Christ says “I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me”. 

The good Shepherd laid down His life for His sheep. As Christians, we are the sheep and Jesus Christ is the good Shepherd. He calls, we hear His voice, know the voice of our Shepherd and we follow Him (John 10:3-4). Jesus our Shepherd delivers us from Satan.

As sheep, we sometimes don’t care so much about our Shepherd, until we are faced with danger or are in a situation threatening our existence, then we start looking for the good Shepherd, our Lord, as written in Psalm 23:1 which says “The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing”.  Our Shepherd, Jesus Christ loves, cares and nurtures us. He will always protect, lead, guide, and look after us, so that no harm befalls us. The psalmist understands true relationship with the Shepherd, that’s why it is written of David, the man after God’s heart.

Some of us have heard of the good Shepherd, but do not know Him, neither have a relationship with Him. Jesus Christ is our Shepherd, He laid His life down for us so that we can have eternal life. My question for us today; who is our Shepherd? If our answer is Jesus Christ, then let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the Author and Finisher of our faith. For those yet to surrender their lives to Jesus, this is not negotiable, do so now, tomorrow might be too late. DO IT NOW! Have a relationship with God.

PRAY THIS; in the name of Jesus, I repent of my sins, come into my heart and I will make You my Lord and Saviour. Stay connected! Stay focused! Stay blessed! Shalom!!!

PRAYER 

🙏 O Lord have mercy, and forgive me, for I have missed the good Shepherd, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 O Lord, make me lie down in green pastures, and lead me beside quite waters, in Jesus’ name.

🙏 O Lord, guide me along the right paths for Your name sake, in Jesus’ name.

🙏 O Lord, arise and prepare a table before me, in the presence of my enemies and let my cup overflow with Your blessings, in Jesus’ name.

🙏 Thank You Lord, for answered prayers.

Leave a Reply

