O GOD, ADVENGE ME OF MY ADVERSARY 

📖: Luke 18:1-8

Confession: Psalm 18:1-47

Nahum 1:2 says “The Lord is a jealous and avenging God; the Lord takes vengeance and is filled with wrath. The Lord takes vengeance on his foes and vents his wrath against his enemies”. As Christians, the battles we face are not against us mainly, but the devil who is indirectly fighting God because he knows that God will always protect His children. When we are faced with adversaries we are not able to fight, but we have a mighty Judge and Avenger, who will vindicate and avenge for us.

According to the book of Luke 18:2-3 “There was in a city a judge, which feared not God, neither regarded man: And there was a widow in that city; and she came unto him, saying, Avenge me of mine adversary”.

This particular situation resonates with many of us. Sometimes we are faced with adversaries we cannot avenge. In this scripture verse, the widow woman wanted vengeance on her adversary. She was persistent on her appearance in seeing the judge; who never feared God nor cared for anyone.  She went to the judge to avenge her of her adversary. Initially the judge refused, but her continual appearance before the judge seeking vengeance, was wearying him down. Finally, the judge decided to grant her justice. The persistence of the widow woman finally paid off. The judge avenged her of her adversary.

Psalm 109:3-5 says “They compassed me about also with words of hatred; and fought against me without a cause.  For my love they are my adversaries: but I give myself unto prayer. And they have rewarded me evil for good, and hatred for my love”. This is a situation where we are surrounded by enemies who are wicked, deceitful and reward us with evil for no just reason. David was a man after God’s heart. He was always praising and worshipping God, even when he was sinful, he goes to God with repentant heart and ask for forgiveness of sin. Hence, when he asked God to avenge him of his adversaries who are too strong for him God answered and granted him his request. 

Our God is a God of mercy and love, which are new every day. For Him to avenge us of our adversaries, we must go to Him with a repentant heart; avoid sin; be faithful, trust Him, and obedient to His command and Words; be grateful for what He has done in our lives. With persistent prayers and petition, present our case before Him and we must not faint or be weary. We must pray until our prayers, healing, deliverance comes. We must be patient, and through our relationship with Him, God will avenge us of our adversaries and we will overcome, in Jesus’ name. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the Author and Finisher of our faith. For those yet to surrender their lives to Jesus, this is not negotiable, do so now, tomorrow might be too late. DO IT NOW! Have a relationship with God.

PRAY THIS; in the name of Jesus, I repent of my sins, come into my heart and I will make You my Lord and Saviour. Stay connected! Stay focused! Stay blessed! Shalom!!!

PRAYER 

🙏 O God, arise in Your mercy and power and avenge me of my adversaries, in the name of Jesus’ name.

🙏 I scatter every agenda of the enemy for my life, in Jesus’ name.

🙏 By the power in the Blood of Jesus, O God arise and disappoint my enemies, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 Powers assigned against my excellence and divine upliftment, what are you waiting for? Die, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 Thank You Lord, for answered prayers.

Leave a Reply

