O LORD, GIVE ME REST 

📖: Matthew 11:28-30 

Confession: Psalm 23

God’s providence plan is for human beings to “be fruitful, and multiply, and replenish the earth, and subdue it: and to have dominion upon the earth” (Genesis 1:28). 

The world is full of stress and we face challenges everyday of our lives that sometimes makes it difficult for us to subdue and have dominion (Isaiah 14:3). The only way we can do that and have rest that God has promised us is to search the scriptures, pray and declare God’s Word into our lives. The key in facing any issues is for our words to align with God’s Word, as the Bible tells us, “Death and life are in the power of the tongue…” (Proverbs 18:21). The Bible is full of God’s promises for our lives and it never fails, but accomplish that focuses which God sent it (Isaiah 55:1). Therefore, those who are under labour and heavily laden can go to Jesus and He will give us rest (Matthew 11:28-30).

Rest is defined as relief or freedom, especially from anything that wearies, trouble, or disturb. There are two types of rest; the physical and the spiritual. The physical body rest is the refreshing ease or repose of sleep: a good night’s sleep or rest after exertion or labor. 
Psalm 4:8 says “In peace I will lie down and sleep, for you alone, Lord, make me dwell in safety”.
The rest in Matthew 11:28 says “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest”.
This is a spiritual rest. Only Jesus Christ that can give us both spiritual and physical rest because He is the way, the truth, and the life (John 14:6).

God is the everlasting God “For I am the Lord your God who takes hold of your right hand and says to you, Do not fear; I will help you (Isaiah 41:13). He will give us His power and renew our strength and we shall mount up with eagles (Isaiah 40:28-31), when we dwell in the secret place of the most High, we shall abide under the shadow of the Alimighty (Psalm 91:1). Therefore when faced with trials, tragedy, situation, or circumstances, we must know that His presence will be with us (Exodus 33:14) and will give us rest (Exodus 33:14). When we have faith and are hopeful, God will strengthen and give us rest (Isaiah 30:15). 

It is paramount for us to fix our eyes on the spiritual rest, which only Jesus can give. Hence, we should strive for spiritual rest because at the end of our lives, we need everlasting rest. “For the Lord himself will come down from heaven, with a loud command, with the voice of the archangel and with the trumpet call of God, and the dead in Christ will rise first. [17] After that, we who are still alive and are left will be caught up together with them in the clouds to meet the Lord in the air. And so we will be with the Lord forever” (1 Thessalonians 4:16-17). For those yet to surrender their lives to Jesus, this is not negotiable, do so now, tomorrow might be too late. DO IT NOW! Have a relationship with God; Hear God’s Word; Read His Word; Meditate on it; Memorize it; Stand on it; Pray His Word; Confess it, and may the power in God’s Word change our lives for the better, to receive our covenant promises and the heavenly promises, to the glory of God, in the name of Jesus. 

PRAY THIS; in the name of Jesus, I repent of my sins, come into my heart and I will make You my Lord and Saviour. Stay connected! Stay focused! Have a blessed day. Shalom!!!

PRAYER 

🙏 I tune myself to the frequency of the Holy Spirit. Holy Spirit, my Director, lead me on the right path, in Jesus’ name.

🙏 O God arise and give me rest on every side, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 I destroy the plan of the enemies of my life, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 I loose myself, body, and spirit from any form of darkness and bondage, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 I am coming out from every cage and bondage, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 The joy of the Lord and the blessings of God is my portion, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 Thank You Lord for answered prayers.

Leave a Reply

