THE MESSAGE OF THE CROSS 

📖: 1 Corinthians 1:17-31

Confession: Psalm 27

Jesus’ death on the cross demonstrates God’s love and Jesus’ sacrifice for mankind. John 3:16 says “For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life”. The cross is all about Jesus’ death. At Calvary, Jesus Christ redeemed us through His Blood that was shed on the cross and gave His life for the atonement of our sins. Jesus Christ paid the penalty for our sins and bought us back to God.

The Bible says in 1 Corinthians 1:18 “For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God”.

Without Jesus Christ shedding His Blood, there is no remission; that is why the cross is key to our Christian faith. The power of the cross is very important because Jesus Christ who without any sin shed His unstained precious Blood, died for our sins. Jesus cried out “it is finished”, (John 19:30). He gave up His Spirit and our sins taken away. Jesus was lifted up-nailed to the cross and in John 12:32 says “And I, when I am lifted up from the earth, will draw all people to myself.” That particular moment that Jesus died, Hell and Satan were defeated. Revelation 12:11 says “They triumphed over him by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony; they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death”. 

By nature, mankind are carnally minded making us to wrestle with temptation and sin. Satan uses lust, sin, pride, and coveteousness to control mankind. The moment we become born again Christians, old things are passed away and we are new creation. Christ lives in us through faith who loved us and gave Himself for us. That is why in Matthew 16:24 “Then Jesus said to his disciples, “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross and follow me”. To deny ourselves means letting go of earthly possessions, saying No to ourselves and say Yes to Jesus. Let us submit ourselves to the will of God and fix our eyes on Jesus. For those yet to surrender their lives to Jesus, this is not negotiable, do so now, tomorrow might be too late. DO IT NOW! 

PRAY THIS; in the name of Jesus, I repent of my sins, come into my heart and I will make You my Lord and Saviour. Stay connected! Stay focused! Have blessed weekend. Shalom!!!

PRAYER 

🙏 O Lord, I thank You for Your death on the cross and for saving me, for eternal life.

🙏 O Lord, let the root of sin in ny life, die, in the name of. Jesus.

🙏 I will grow in the knowledge of my Saviour, every day, in Jesus’ name.

🙏 Lord Jesus, upgrade my knowledge of You,  in Jesus’ name.

🙏 I will not stray away from following Jesus Christ, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 I pull down every stronghold of evil and carnal thoughts in my mind, in Jesus’ name.

🙏 I will walk and not be weary, I will run and not faint, in Jesus’ name.

🙏 O Lord, let me be worthy of Your Kingdom, in the name of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

