OVERWHELMED BY CIRCUMSTANCES 

📖: Matthew 11:29-30

Confession: Psalm 91

When God created us, He did not promise us a trouble-free life on earth. At the same time, God did not create us to carry our burden around either. The promise of God for His children is that He will be with us every step of the way and lead us to victory if we trust in Him (2 Corinthians 2:14). 

We are sometimes overwhelmed with decisions, demands, pressures, and expectations in the journey of life. When circumstances overwhelms us, we must have the right attitude and mindset, instead of focusing on the issue confronting us. We must not fix our eyes on the circumstances rather, focus on God who has the power to all situations, and the Word of God will help us (Psalm 142:3). The Word of God will help activate and armed us with God’s power that’s inside of us. God has already given us His strength to equip us and it will enable us do all things through Christ which strengthens us (Philippians 4:13).

When circumstances overwhelm us, it takes a toll on us. We sometimes loose our ability to focus, and fear sets in when there seems to be no way out of the situation. No one is problem free, but we can cast our burden before God because He cares for us (1 Peter 5:7). Hebrews 13:5 says “Never will I leave you; never will I forsake you”. God has given us the tools we need to overcome situations that are overwhelming to us. 

Sometimes in life, we are confronted with situation that pose a threat to our existence and become overwhelmed. I’m saying this from experience. Some time ago, I was having problem with my health and it felt like a mountain before me that I couldn’t do anything about. I was overwhelmed, helpless, and hopeless because I did not know what to do about health; constant stomach pain. I had series of medical test and everything was perfect, but the pain was still there, and started having negative thoughts. I had to change my mindset by talking to myself and my mind talking back to me, meditating on God’s Word and with prayers the doctors were able to dictect what was happening to me. Psalm 61:2 says “When my heart is overwhelmed; lead me to the rock that is higher than I”. With a renewed mindset, I started getting encouraged and the heaviness was replaced with inner peace and with a new mindset, prayer and medication, I received my healing and got a clean bill of health. 

A.W. Tozer is quoted as saying “Sometimes when we get overwhelmed, we forget how big our God is”.

Psalm 138:7 says “Though I walk in the midst of trouble, you preserve my life. You stretch out your hand against the anger of my foes; with your right hand you save me”. Therefore, when we are overwhelmed by circumstances, we cannot change the circumstances, but God will change it for us. When we are weak, God is strong (2 Corinthians 12:9). Let us fix our eyes on Jesus and “pray without ceasing” (1 Thessalonians 5:17). Have a blessed day. Shalom!!!

PRAYER 

🙏 Holy Spirit, cast away my heaviness and fill my life afresh, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 My Father, plug me into the sucket of the Holy Spirit today, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 My Father, my God, show me my past and my present that are affecting my future, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 Power of God which cannot be insulted, incubate my life, in the name of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

