BE A SERVANT FOR THE LORD

📖: Mark 10:35-45

Mark 10:43 says “Not so with you. Instead, whoever wants to become great among you must be your servant”.

To be a servant for the Lord, is one of the characteristics of the life of Jesus Christ. In our present world, the society makes us gravitate towards our own personal happiness and comfort rather than others. We need to cultivate the habit of servanthood as Christians and having the mind set of begin a servant; a servant is someone who renders services to he works of God in the kingdom and have the same attitude towards others. We have to willingly and be ready in offering oneself to the need of others no matter what it takes (Colossians 3:24; Galatians 6:10).

As it is written in Galatians 2:19-21 say, “For through the law I died to the law so that I might live for God. [20] I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. [21] I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!”. As Christians, we are His servants and His people, whom Jesus redeemed by His great strength and mighty hand (Nehemiah 1:10). Therefore this year, let us strive in the field of servanthood and be willing to serve others without seeking approval of man (Galatians 1:10; Matthew 6:1-4), hypocrite, or for self ambitions. Rather, identify the need and have genuine compassion in our heart in serving others (Colossians 3:12) because it is the essence of being Christians. 

We are God’s handiwork, created in Jesus Christ to do good works (Ephesians 2:10) hence as the Lord’s servant, we must be kind to others, able to teach, and be patient when wronged (2 Timothy 2:24). and being a servant has it’s own reward from God (2 Corinthians 4:15-18). As servants of the Lord, we need the Holy Spirit, the Word of God to help, aid and develop our heart in serving the Lord and others. We cannot live a fulfilling life without adopting a Christ like attributes of being a servant. God will give us discernment spirit that we need to understand His statues (Psalm 119:125).

PRAYER 

🙏 Let the fire of God consume every hindrance to my spiritual breakthrough, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 O God, convert my weakness to strength, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 Holy Spirit, baptise me with Your anointing that cannot be insulted, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 O God, make me useful in Your vineyard, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 I shall not fail God in all my endeavours in life, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 Holy Spirit, fill my life afresh, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 I refuse to waste my life, I refuse to waste my time, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 O Lord, give me a large heart to identify the needs of others and to help them, in the name 9f Jesus.

🙏 Every spiritual ignorance walking with me into the pit, be destroyed, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 Anointing to make a difference in my generation, fall upon me, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 O Lord, help me to be a blessing to others, in the name of Jesus.

🙏 O Lord, bestow upon me, Your power to do Your work and be a good servant, fall upon me, in the name of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

